10 educators from across tri-county region chosen for math awards

Tri-County Cradle to Career Collaborative’s Math Pathways Project Team is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Excellence in Mathematics Teaching awards.

Public schools in 48 states – including South Carolina – reported mathematics teacher shortages for the 2017-18 school year. In fact, mathematics teacher shortages have been prevalent in South Carolina since 2000.

The tri-county region’s economy now requires a highly educated and skilled labor force, particularly in the STEM disciplines, to remain competitive. Those same economic trends that have made mathematics skills increasingly valuable to students have made it increasingly difficult to attract and retain skilled mathematics teachers.

To honor and put a spotlight on mathematics teachers and administrators who are working tirelessly to train our future work force, TCCC’s Math Pathways Project Team recognized excellence in the profession during an event on October 16 at Trident Technical College.

Mathematics professionals from the four regional school districts, who were nominated by their peers, were honored during this “Excellence in Mathematics Teaching” event, sponsored by The Boeing Company. Jennifer Wise, the 2017 S.C. Teacher of the Year who now serves in Lexington School District Two as the instructional services specialist and within the University of South Carolina as an elementary math methods instructor, delivered the keynote address.

“A large body of evidence confirms that teacher effectiveness is a key determinant of students’ academic progress, so we want to take this opportunity to honor those teachers who are having a strong, positive impact,” said Geoff Schuler, a retired Boeing Company executive and convener of TCCC’s Math Pathways Project Team. “Teachers deserve society’s respect, and we must continue to find ways to motivate and inspire those in this noble profession.”

Mathematics prepares and develops a student’s mind to accept, analyze and execute complex ideas. It is built level by level, and mastering math fundamentals in the early grades is the gateway to future coursework.

In the tri-county region, 57 percent of third graders met math grade-level standards on the SC READY test in 2017-2018.

“Budget constraints and teacher shortages – particularly for those in STEM subjects – increase pressures on teacher time and severely limit opportunities for sustained professional development.  Students benefit, though, when teachers have the tools and resources they need to supplement math curricula,” said TCCC CEO John C. Read. “We must fund programs and provide time within the school week for continuous learning opportunities that allow educators to advance their skills.”

Winners of the 2018 Excellence in Mathematics Teaching awards each received a trophy and $350.00 to use toward professional development opportunities of their own choosing.

“Education is the key to success, and teachers are at the center of it,” said Anita Zucker, CEO of The InterTech Group and chair of the TCCC Board of Directors. “I hope that each teacher who was nominated feels more respected, more passionate and more appreciated. I am proud of and inspired by each one of them.”

Nominees are listed below:

Lesley Brantley, Dorchester School District Two

Christi Brinson, Dorchester School District Two

Ashley Clemmons, Dorchester School District Two

Sarah Crowe, Charleston County School District

Cindy Fisk, Berkeley County School District

Meghan Lewis, Berkeley County School District

Cheri Modeen, Charleston County School District

Jenell Riley, Charleston County School District

Christine Ryan, Charleston County School District

Christine Trevillyan, Dorchester School District Two

Brittany Wasilowski, Charleston County School District

Meggie Wegmann, Dorchester School District Two

Winners are listed below:

Hanna Cato, Berkeley County School District

Allison Gable, Charleston County School District

Joe Guarino, Charleston County School District

Paula Huggins, Dorchester School District Four

Kristin Kofoid, Dorchester School District Two

Megan Profit, Dorchester School District Two

Gary Seaboldt, Dorchester School District Two

Laney Taylor, Dorchester School District Four

Meg Ward, Berkeley County School District

James Whitehair, Charleston County School District


To view bios and photos of the nominees, winners and speakers, click here.
To view a PDF version of this press release, click here.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply