TCCC launches CQI Initiative for local childhood service providers

Tri-County Cradle to Career Collaborative (TCCC) and national consulting group Root Cause recently launched the Tri-County Continuous Quality Improvement Initiative to provide coaching and strengthen evidence-based results for seven local early childhood service providers.

With funding from The Duke Endowment, the initiative will take the seven participating organizations through a 12- to 15-month continuous quality improvement (CQI) process to collect, analyze and use data to improve the quality of services being delivered. Root Cause will help the providers strengthen their capacity to collect and use data and improve their programs, with the ultimate goal being to increase kindergarten readiness among children in the community.

“This CQI initiative is another step being taken to strategically align with the work of the Kindergarten Readiness Network convened by the Trident United Way and sponsored by TCCC, to achieve the goal that all children are ready for kindergarten regardless of race or zip code,” said Thetyka  Robinson, TCCC’s Director of Facilitation.

The organizations selected to participate in the CQI initiative are Communities in Schools Charleston; Father to Father, Inc.; Berkeley County First Steps; Charleston County First Steps; Dorchester County First Steps; Florence Crittenton; and PCIT (Parent-Child Interaction Therapy) Charleston. These organizations provide services in planned and well-timed pregnancies, healthy births, on-track development, school readiness by kindergarten and success by third grade, as well as other services.  The programs directly serve families in Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester and two other counties in South Carolina.

The goals of the CQI initiative are to help childhood service organizations build capacity to collect and use data in ways that go beyond compliance with funder requirements or other external performance standards; be intentional about clarity of vision, goals, and measurement; improve communication within and across teams; and create a culture that fosters learning and a spirit of inquiry.

TCCC announces Phyllis Martin as new CEO

Tri-County Cradle to Career Collaborative announces the appointment of Phyllis Martin as its next chief executive officer (CEO).

Martin joins TCCC after three years as the vice president of Community Impact for the United Way of Northeastern Florida in Jacksonville, Fla. Prior to that, Martin served as the vice president of Impact Strategies for the United Way of Greenville County in Greenville, S.C. She is replacing John C. Read who has served as CEO for the past five years and had advised TCCC’s board one year ago of his intent to step down.

“I am very pleased that Phyllis has agreed to take the helm of our organization and continue the work to assure that every child, from cradle to career is able to succeed,” said TCCC Board Chair Anita Zucker.  “Phyllis’ experiences working in leadership positions for large, regional United Way organizations will serve her well in connecting with education stakeholders in the Lowcountry.”

Darrin Goss, CEO of Coastal Community Foundation who chaired the TCCC CEO search committee, said Martin stood out as someone with a distinctive ability to build lasting relationships throughout the community given her experience across multiple sectors.

Martin was elected CEO at the board meeting held October 16 and will also serve as a member of the board of directors. She will step into her new role effective November 18.

The 2019 Excellence in Mathematics Teaching award winners announced

Tri-County Cradle to Career Collaborative’s (TCCC) Math Pathways Project Team (MPPT) announced the winners of the 2019 Excellence in Mathematics Teaching awards at a dinner celebration on Monday, October 14 at Charleston Southern University. To honor and recognize mathematics teachers and administrators who work tirelessly to train our future work force, MPPT recognized 38 nominees with 16 winners receiving a trophy and a financial award for professional development.

The event brought together 175 people, many of them math professionals from across the four county school districts serving the greater Charleston area, as well other professionals and family members who wanted to honors these teachers.

The keynote speaker was Marc Drews, Director of Strategic Partnerships, EdVenture Children’s Museum, and a past Mathematics teacher who began his career in the Charleston area. Other speakers included Anita Zucker, CEO of The InterTech Group Inc. and Chair of the Tri-County Cradle to Career Collaborative Board of Directors; Jessica Jackson, Director of Global Engagement, The Boeing Company; Dr. Dondi Costin, President of Charleston Southern University; Dr. Karen Fonkert, Mathematics professor at Charleston Southern University; John Cooper, convener of TCCC’s Math Pathways Project Team, and John Read, CEO of TCCC.

The 2019 Excellence in Mathematics Teaching award winners and their award categories are listed below. Visit the event page for additional information on winners and nominees.

Jeremy Osborne (Elementary), Berkeley County School District

Jackie Danko (Middle School), Berkeley County School District

Accalia Bailey (High School), Berkeley County School District

Elizabeth Ball (Professional), Berkeley County School District

Sarah Coleman (Elementary), Charleston County School District

Cathy DeMers (Middle School), Charleston County School District

Jenell Riley (High School), Charleston County School District

Nicholas Reece (Professional), Charleston County School District

Melissa Odom (Elementary), Dorchester School District Two

Ariana Mitchell (Middle School), Dorchester School District Two

Ashley Jacobs (High School), Dorchester School District Two

Dr. Malia Dunn (Professional), Dorchester School District Two

Ivory Howard (Elementary), Dorchester School District Four

Rebecca Steedley (Middle School), Dorchester School District Four

Brittany Wright Sibert (High School), Dorchester School District Four

Nicole Bryant (Professional), Dorchester School District Four